Members of New Commission on African American Affairs Named

The Associated Press

Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts has named 14 members to the state’s newly created Commission on African American Affairs.

The commission was created through a state law passed in last year’s legislative session. Members will serve four-year terms.

The commission will coordinate programs related to Nebraska’s African American community related to housing, education, welfare, employment and other issues.

The new members are DeMoine Adams of Lincoln; William Femi Awodele of Bennington; John Carter of Benkelman; Toni Clarke of Papillion; Vernon Joseph of Lincoln; Gwen Easter of Omaha; Connie S. Edmund of Lincoln; Glenn Freeman of Omaha; Rendell Gines Sr. of Omaha; Clarice Jackson of Omaha; Laban Njuguna of Aurora; Mark Jared Smith of Omaha; Karine Sokpoh of Omaha; and LeShawn Young of Omaha.

User login

Omaha Daily Record

The Daily Record
3323 Leavenworth Street
Omaha, Nebraska
United States

Tele (402) 345-1303
Fax (402) 345-2351