ABA Honors 9th Circuit Judge With Annual Marshall Award

San Francisco – Judge M. Margaret McKeown of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit receive the American Bar Association’s prestigious John Marshall Award  on Aug. 9 during the ABA’s annual meeting.

The award, named for the famed U.S. chief justice, recognizes those who are dedicated to “extraordinary improvements” in the administration of justice in the areas of judicial independence, justice system reform, or public awareness of the justice system. Past recipients include retired Justices Sandra Day O’Connor and Anthony M. Kennedy of the U.S. Supreme Court. McKeown is the first Ninth Circuit judge to receive the award.

McKeown is recognized for her work on judicial ethics, gender issues, and international rule of law. Appointed to the Court of Appeals in 1998, she is the former president of the Federal Judges Association.

McKeown is a judiciary leader on workplace harassment issues. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. appointed her to the Federal Judiciary Workplace Conduct Working Group. She also is chair of the Ninth Circuit Ad Hoc Committee on Workplace Relations.  

She chairs the ABA Rule of Law Initiative, which helps about 50 nations advance justice reforms, including greater transparency and accountability in the judiciary. She is a managerial trustee with the International Association of Women Judges.

Born in Wyoming, McKeown earned her B.A. from the University of Wyoming and her law degree from Georgetown University Law Center. Before her appointment to the bench, she engaged in private practice for over two decades in Seattle and Washington, D.C., including as the first woman partner with Perkins Coie.

– Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts

User login

Omaha Daily Record

The Daily Record
3323 Leavenworth Street
Omaha, Nebraska
United States

Tele (402) 345-1303
Fax (402) 345-2351